About The Rivers State University Alumni

The Alumni association is made up of Graduands of the old College of Science and Technology (CST), Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST) and presently Rivers State University, Nkpolu - Oroworukwo, Port Harcourt.

The Rivers State University Alumni Association was established in 1987 with Prof. Felix E. Opara as the first National President. It began with only one branch – The Rivers State Branch.

In 1989, Mr Jack Iketubosin Owunari was elected as the second National President which also saw the emergence of Bayelsa State Branch.

In 1991 Opu Senibo Marshall Elliot Tolofari took over the leadership of the Alumni and the Akwa-Ibom State Branch was formed.

In 1993, Mr. Adonye Omubo Pepple was elected as the president to pilot the affairs of the Alumni Association.

In 2002, Mr. Adonye Omubo Pepple handed over to Dr. James U.D. Didia who held the office as the fifth National President.

In 2004, Rotn. James E. Neminebor was elected the sixth National President.

He handed over to Elder (Dr.) Hyke E. Ochia (JP) in 2008 as the seventh National President.


Play Video

In November 2010, Dr. N. Gladson Nwokah, was elected as the eight National President of the Alumni Association. During the tenure of Dr. N. Gladson Nwokah, the Abuja, Owerri and Taraba Branches of the Alumni were formed. The tenure of Dr. Gladson registered some landmark developments in the Alumni Association, notably:


  1. Incorporation of the Alumni Association with the Corporate Affairs Commission in 2013 and the adoption of Alumni Association Constitution.
  2. Purchase of 16 Seater medium Roof Hiace Bus for the Alumni use.
  3. Initiated and completed the National Secretariat building of the Alumni Association.
  4. Endowment of  Professorial Chair of 10 Million Naira for the Department of Marketing by Chief Rt. Hon Austin Opara (OFR).
  5. Initiated the construction of a Ten Room Guest House with about 80% completion, before handing over to the incumbent President, Amb. Israel  Onwuanaku Egbunefu in   November 2016.

The Present National Executive council of the Alumni Association was inaugurated on the 26th of November 2016 with Amb. Israel Onwuanaku Egbunefu as its National President. The Vision of the present Administration is to build on the foundation laid by the previous administrations of the Alumni Association to create appropriate structures for capacity building amongst members, to engender sustained collaborative activities in the development of our Alma mater.

The drive to reposition the Alumni Association commenced with the design and hosting of an Interactive website to network all Alumni of the Rivers State University across the globe. All projects and programmes of the Alumni Association are to be publicized on the website for members to subscribe to.

The Alumni Association under the leadership of Amb. Israel O. Egbunefu has identified potentials inherent in grouping members according to the year of graduation. To this end, the Class of 98/99 graduands of this great University has been inaugurated to function as a Unit under the Alumni Association of the University. The understanding in the operation of the class groupings is to encourage members identify with their year mates, to be able to give back quality development programmes to our Alma mater.

The drive has yielded fruits after the inauguration of the class 98/99 set of graduands. As part of our end of year programmes in November 2017, the Alumni Association mobilized resources amongst its members to deliver amongst other projects, a remodeled Main Entrance Gate  with pedestrian walkway. The spirit of carrying out development projects is part of the capacity building strategies the present Administration of the Alumni Association is poised to undertake on yearly basis.